What happens after a DUI arrest in Maryland?
A group photo of the firm's attorneys.

What happens after a DUI arrest in Maryland?

On Behalf of | Aug 25, 2023 | DUI Charges |

When a driver is charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, the future becomes uncertain. Those facing DUI charges are usually embarrassed and take a hit to their reputations. They may also endure some anxious nights without much sleep. In recent years, law enforcement agencies across Maryland have ramped up efforts to combat drunk driving. But what happens immediately after drivers in Maryland are formally charged with DUI? 

What happens next? 

Anyone arrested on suspicion of DUI will be required by authorities to submit to a chemical test of their blood alcohol content. A driver with a BAC of more than .08 will receive an order of suspension and the driver’s license will be seized. A driver who refuses to submit to the BAC test will also suffer a license suspension.  

After a driver’s license is taken, the driver will be given a 45-day temporary paper license. Drivers in this situation can request a hearing to challenge their license suspension. The length of time a driver’s license is suspended after a DUI arrest will vary depending on the situation, but it can range from 180 days to two years. Two-time offenders whose BAC is .15 or more, or who were involved in an accident that resulted in a fatality, can have their license revoked. 

Legal options after a DUI charge 

Receiving a DUI charge may seem like all hope is lost. However, those in Maryland who have been arrested and accused of DUI have the right to speak with a legal representative about their options for defending against the charges. An experienced criminal defense attorney can focus on ensuring the protection of the client’s legal rights while fighting for the best possible result.