The penalties for drunk driving: A guide for young drivers
A group photo of the firm's attorneys.

The penalties for drunk driving: A guide for young drivers

On Behalf of | Jul 9, 2024 | DUI Charges |

If you are a young driver in Maryland, underage drinking and driving can be a dangerous gamble that can derail your future. The state takes these offenses seriously and the penalties can be harsh.

Understanding your situation is the first step to protecting your rights and your future. This blog will break down the potential consequences of underage drinking and impaired driving in the state.

The consequences of drinking for young drivers

Drivers under 21 may be fined $500 if they are caught buying, possessing or consuming alcohol. The fine doubles if they repeat the offense.

Violating alcohol restriction laws in the state may also result in license suspension. Moreover, offenders will have to participate in an ignition interlock program.

Owning fake identification cards is also punishable by law in Maryland. Those under 21 possessing fake IDs may have to pay a fine of $500 and even spend two months in jail. This violation also adds 12 points to a driver’s record and may lead to the revocation of their driving privileges.

How a defense lawyer may help

Facing underage drinking and traffic violation charges can feel overwhelming. However, you do not have to go through this challenging situation alone.

An experienced defense attorney can provide valuable support in several ways. They can thoroughly review your case, looking for any procedural errors during the arrest or violations of your rights that could impact the outcome.

They may give you a clear picture of your options, which can help you make more informed decisions about how to proceed. Moreover, they may initiate negotiation proceedings with prosecutors for alternative sentencing options, potentially minimizing the impact of the violation on your future.